Daily Archives: August 8, 2008

Get a cool dog tag, benefit the HSUS

dogtag.jpg
I belong to a few online pet communities and someone posted information about their online business that sells unique dog tags made from bottle caps. So go check out BazStore here. And just so you know, a portion of the proceeds for each sale goes to the Humane Society of the United States.

All tags are made using heavy resin, recycled or new bottle caps, paint and strong metal loops. The backs of every tag have two layers of sealant to secure your contact information for typical pet durability.

Some of the tags come ready made, while others can be semi or totally custom made…like this one, which comes complete with your pet’s very own picture. Click here for information on how to order this one. By the way…these dog tags aren’t just for dogs. Your feline friend can wear them too. My Hershey may not wear one but Marcie just might.
dogtag2.jpg
Here’s a photo of the owner’s dog Bazza wearing one. And yes the store is named after him.
bazzathreestripe.jpg
The store also sells a variety of colorful bandanas like this one! Product prices range from $4 to $15 (for the custom picture dog tag). And don’t forget…a portion of all sales goes to the Humane Society of the United States (yeah I have to put that in twice).

Leave a comment

Filed under pet products

Now I’ve seen it all: cat edition!

cat butt.jpg
Here’s yet another entry in the now-I’ve-seen-it-all category. I was looking at The Pet Blog yesterday (can you tell it’s one of my favorite blogs?) and came across something about the Cat Butt Museum! Now I know it’s not in the Valley but you can at least go to the website and check out the exhibit of paintings, drawings and pictures of kitty posteriors.

Now I’m sure you’ve all seen those Cat Butt refrigerator magnets and stickers (in fact I’ve got a set of my own, given to me by a friend…LOL!!), but some other things that I came across really got me howling with laughter.

Need a new pencil sharpener? Get yourself a black or white cat pencil sharpener. Now I’m not even going to discuss this. The picture speaks for itself. This product must be extremely popular since it is currently unavailable at the museum’s online store and amazon.com. Oh wait! I just found it here!. Get it there for $14.99. But if you want to get it on amazon.com or the museum website you’re just going to have to wait. Not sure if the person that invented this likes cats or not.
catbuttsharpener.jpg
And OMG it comes with a kitty litter box that collects the shavings and the kitty meows when you…ahem…use the sharpener for it’s intended purpose. Check out this demo!

Now I hope PETA doesn’t come after me. I myself am kind of weirded out by this product too even though it’s a crazy novelty item. So please…DON’T DO THIS TO YOUR REAL CAT!! Just had to specify that.

Now if you’re not into crazy pencil sharpeners but like anything to do with cats and their posteriors, here’s a unique towel holder. Now wouldn’t that look cute right next to your bathroom sink? It’s available pretty much anywhere for $19.99.
catbutttowel.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under whacky things